Ancelotti: “Asensio’s handball? It hits him in the chest, Referee have invented it”

Carlo Ancelotti criticizes the referee as the Italian point a finger at the match officials for costing his team 2 points against Girona

Even Real Madrid are starting to show signs of fatigue. They were Held for draw at the Bernabéu on Sunday by Girona (1-1), Los Blancos have to deal with a string of games and an ever more hectic schedule. Add to that a penalty awarded for an unobvious handball to the visitors, and you have Carlo Ancelotti out of his usual composure.


It wasn’t the normal Ancelotti for today’s post-match press conference. One who does not raise his voice, who does not have bad words… but who does make clear his indignation when he considers having lived an injustice. And Asensio’s controversial handball was the main talking point in his press conference. Ancelotti didn’t use any diplomatic response, surprised, he denied the officials decisions. He said, directly, that the ball does not hit the hand.

“The penalty, he (the referee) invented it, there is nothing to add,” Ancelotti fumed at the presser. A fact of the game which allowed the visitors to respond to the opener of Vinicius Junior (70′). In short, an almost instant action. The ball landed on Marco Asensio’s chest before grazing the Spaniard’s left arm. It took the intervention of the VAR to finish convincing the referee for awarding a penalty, converted by Cristhian Stuani (80′). For Ancelotti, the decision is more than questionable: ” It’s quite clear: there is no penalty because the player does not touch the ball with his hand, he first touches was with his chest, the Italian coach declare his clear objection on the referee’s decision. “It’s true that he has an unnatural position, that he tries to enlarge his body, but he doesn’t touch the ball with his hand first. So, we can’t whistle on that.”